2020 Moto2 and Moto3 Champions decided!

The Moto2 and Moto3 Championships came down to the final round at Portimao

7w ago

The Moto3 season has seen 10 different winners this season in 15 races. Albert Arenas won 3 races in 2020, the opening race at Qatar, the Spanish Grand Prix and Jerez and finally the Austrian Grand Prix. Tatsuki Suzuki won a race this season in the Andalucian Grand Prix. Dennis Foggia won the Czech Grand Prix. Celestino Vietti won the Styrian Grand Prix and the French Grand Prix. John Mcphee won the Misano Grand Prix. Romano Fenati won the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix. Darryn Binder won the Catalan Grand Prix. Jaume Masia won the Aragon Grand Prix and the Teruel Grand Prix. Tony Arbolino won the Valencian Grand Prix. Finally, Raul Fernandez won the European and the Portugues Grand Prix.

KTM won 8 Grand Prix's, Honda won 6 Grand Prix's and Husqvarana won 1 Grand Prix.

Albert Arenas is the 2020 Moto3 World Champion with 5 podiums and 3 race wins. But this is not what won Arenas the championship .with 174 points, his amazing race craft was what won him the championship, he only finished outside the points 4 times in 15 races. The man was able to find himself at the right place at the right time this season gaining himself all the points he physically could. He managed to beat Tony Arbolino and Ai Ogura who finished 2nd and 3rd on 170 points. Tony Arbolino had 5 podiums and 1 race win. Ai Ogura had 7 podiums throughout the season. These 3 gave us amazing races all season long and all deserve their moves up to Moto2.

Moving to Moto2 now. This season saw us have 7 race winners. Tetsuta Nagashima at the Qatar Grand Prix. Luca Marini at the Spanish Grand Prix, Misano Grand Prix and the Catalan Grand Prix. Enea Bastianini at the Andalusian Grand Prix, Czech Grand Prix and the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix. Jorge Martin at the Austrian Grand Prix and the Valencian Grand Prix. Marco Bezzecchi at the Styrian Grand Prix and the European Grand Prix. Sam Lowes at the French Grand Prix, the Aragon Grand Prix and the Teruel Grand Prix. Finally, Remy Gardner won the Portuguese Grand Prix.

Enea Bastianini came out as the 2020 Moto2 World Champion with his 3 race wins and 7 podium place finishes, similarly to Arenas the out right race wins weren't the cause of Enea's championship win but his consistency as he only finished outside the points once in 15 races, he managed to claim 205 points across the whole season. Luca Marini and Sam Lowes finished 2nd and 3rd in the championship with the both of them on 196 points. Luca Marini won 3 races and claimed 6 podiums and Sam claimed 3 wins and 7 podiums throughout the 2020 season. Next season we will see Enea and Luca as teammate at the Avintia Ducati team, but Luca's bike will be in VR46 colours. Next season Sam will still be at the Estrella Gallicia Marc VDS Moto2 team where he will be 100% believe that he can win the Moto2 World Championship.

Join In

Comments (0)