- New Audi Formula E car [Copyright: Audi]

Audi reveals Season 4 Formula E car, Allan McNish named team principal

The German giants makes its first appearance as a manufacturer in Season 4.

3y ago

Audi unveiled its first Formula E car for Season 4, since taking over the ABT Schaeffler entry, at the launch event in Neuburg on Wednesday.

The German manufacturer also confirmed its driver line-up comprising of Season 3 champion Lucas di Grassi and its new factory driver Daniel Abt - both staying on for their fourth season together.

Meanwhile, the former Formula 1 and World Endurance Championship driver Allan McNish was revealed as the outfit's new Team Principal.

The event also had the new Audi e-tron FE04 in flesh, as di Grassi drove down the car into the hall - with a striking new livery featuring white, metallic green and black as opposed to the red, yellow and green combo.

Audi e-tron FE04 [Copyright: Audi]

Audi e-tron FE04 [Copyright: Audi]

The Head of Audi Motorsport Dieter Gass said: “Together with our technology partner Schaeffler, we have developed a completely new powertrain.

"You can immediately tell this by looking at the new carbon housing of the powertrain. The car also sounds different because we’re pursuing new avenues in technology.”

Audi became the second team to reveal its 2017/18 car after title rivals, Renault launched its Z.E.17 on Tuesday in Paris.

The new season kicks off during the December 2-3 weekend with a double-header in Hong Kong, with 14 races to be run until the finale in Montreal during the July 28-29 weekend.

The 2017/18 grid so far:

Renault e.dams: Sebastian Buemi & Nicolas Prost

Mahindra Racing: Nick Heidfeld & Felix Rosenqvist

DS Virgin Racing: Sam Bird & Alex Lynn

Dragon Racing: Neel Jani & Jerome d'Ambrosio

Techeetah: Jean-Eric Vergne & Andre Lotterer

Audi: Lucas di Grassi & Daniel Abt

[Image courtesy: Audi] #Audi #Motorsport #Electric #FormulaE

Join In

Comments (0)