- Race podium [Copyright: X1 Racing]

Bangalore spearheads opening X1 Racing League round at Buddh circuit

The new series started at Buddh circuit amid lots of voices.

The IPL-style X1 Racing League kicked-off in India at the Buddh International Circuit last weekend with the JK Tyre Festival of Speed event. The brainchild of Armaan Ebraham and Aditya Patel came to light albeit not the way it was supposed to be.

The major downfall was the cars as the series couldn't secure the radicals and had to do with a decade old Formula BMW cars, which were essentially dropped by JK Tyre, the year before. Nevertheless, the six franchise got into the action as the weekend began.

Bangalore Racing Stars emerged as a stronghold in the first round after with the team of Arjun Maini, Oliver James Webb, Michelle Gatting, Vishnu Prasad and Nayan Chatterjee got three wins from the four races - all going to Maini and Webb, which includes the relay race.

The duo were second in the fourth one. Their teammates Chatterjee and Gatting eked out a second place in one of the races as well. The only other team to win a race was Mumbai Falcons with Kush Maini and Mikkel Jensen taking the honours.

When Jensen partnered with Karthik Tharani, they finished third together while the team ended up second in the relay race with Pippa Mann and Sohil Shah in action too. Apart the two teams, DG Races scored couple of podiums courtesy Krishnaraaj Mahadik and Rahel Frey.

At the same time NK Racing SuperSpeed Chennai had two podium finishes as well, one coming in the relay race where they had Arjun Bala, Parthiva Sureshwaran, Mitch Gilbert, Yash Aradhya and Alice Powell - where the likes of Narain Karthikeyan and Franky Cheng backed out.

[Note: This information is carried on the basis of the Top 3 results provided by the series]

[Image courtesy: X1 Racing]

Join In

Comments (2)

  • Expected GT racing, but this is fine too.

      1 year ago
    • It was supposed to be radical cars but with lack of budget, it ended up being single-seaters...

        1 year ago