- Karna Kadur [Copyright: RRPM]

Coffee Day Rally: Karna Kadur wins after trouble for Gaurav Gill

The championship is wide open with another troubled run for Gaurav Gill.

A retirement from Round 3 set Mahindra Adventure's Gaurav Gill and Musa Sherif aback but the duo started the Round 4 with the Coffee Day Rally in the 2018 Indian National Rally Championship on a sound note leading the way in his Mahindra XUV500 in early stages.

Gill led way until SS5 but for an issue which hampered his run in SS6 where he was unable to finish. He eventually returned in SS8 and won all the three remaining stages to eventually finish fifth overall and second in INRC1 category.

The WRC2 racer's unfortunate luck opened up the rally for his rivals, especially INRC2's Karna Kadur with Nikhil Pai in the Volkswagen Polo who won SS6 and SS7 to take over the lead and register his first win of the season.

Mahindra Adventure's Amittrajit Ghosh with Ashwin Naik fought valiantly against Kadur despite the ill health but could only manage second overall - his efforts weren't un-noticed as he took the INRC1 class win still.

The overall podium was completed by Bopiah (with Gagan Karumbaiah) in the Volkswagen Polo. They were second in INRC2 category. A late charge from Younus Ilyas (with Harish KN) helped him to fourth overall and third in INRC2 in the Mitsubishi Cedia.

The INRC2 Top 5 had Aditya Thakur (with Aseem Sharma) and G.B.G Joshy (with Chandramouli M) respectively in the Volkswagen Polo. They were sixth and seventh respectively overall behind Mahindra's Gill.

The INRC3 winner Arjun Rao (with Milen George) was eighth overall in the Volkswagen Polo with Fabid Ahmer (with Shahid Salman) in second in the Volkswagen Polo as well. Ahmer was 10th overall with INRC2's sixth placed Jacob KJ (with PVS Murthy) was ninth overall.

Full results:

[Image courtesy: RRPM] #INRC #Motorpsort #India #Rally #smalltribesrule #2018 #RRPM #Mahindra #Volkswagen #Mitsubishi #Maruti #INRC2 #INRC3 #GauravGill #Polo #CoffeeDayRally

Join In

Comments (0)