- Rally in action [Copyright: FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship]

December date for Indian APRC round in provisional 2018 calendar, China returns

The provisional calendar for the 2018 season was released by the organisers.

The organisers of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship has revealed the provisional calendar for the 2018 season with six rounds in total.

The season will kick-off as usual in New Zealand with the International Rally of Whangarei in May (6th-7th), as opposed to a April start.

It then moves to Australia during June 2-3 weekend, with the venue yet to be confirmed, but as per latest reports, it suggests the round will be based in Coffs Harbour in New South Wales.

In another change the Malaysian rally is pre-poned to a July (21st-22nd) slot from its August date - the month will not feature any rally.

The Rally Hokkaido in Japan is next on September 15-16, while the Chinese rally returns to an old venue in Longyou, Zhejiang during the October 20-21 weekend.

The season will end with the Rally of India in Chikmagalur, but the round will be held in December (1st-2nd), moving one week from its November date this year.

The organisers also announced the extension of the deal with its existing title sponsor, Wurth, for the 2018 season with an option for 2019 and beyond.

Provisional 2018 calendar:

International Rally of Whangarei, New Zealand - May 5-6

TBC, Australia - June 2-3

Malaysian Rally, Johor - July 21-22

Rally Hokkaido, Japan - September 15-16

Rally China, Longyou - October 20-21

Rally of India, Chikmagalur - December 2-3

[Image courtesy: FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship] #APRC #Asia #NewZealand #Australia #India #Malaysia #Japan #China #Rally #Motorsport #smalltribesrule #2018

Join In

Comments (0)