- Bernie Ecclestone [Copyright: Sky Sports F1]

Ecclestone given Honorary role by FIA, Massa becomes Karting Commission head

2y ago


The FIA has revealed the list of new Honorary members in the 2017 Annual General Assembly in Paris, where it also re-elected Jean Todt as its president for the Frenchman's third and final term at the helm of the sport's governing body.

Among the 13 Honorary member names released, it features the former Formula 1 boss Bernie Ecclestone, who has been given the role of a Honorary Vice-President along with Morrie Chandler, Carlos Garcia Fuertes and Victor Ruben Dumot.

The role of Honorary President of the Senate goes to Michel Boeri and Nicholas Craw. The release also had three names for Honorary Members of the FIA, two for Honorary Commission President of the FIA and one each for Honorary Commission Vice-President of the FIA and Honorary Commission Member of the FIA.

This is the second Honorary role for the 87-year-old businessman alongside his Chairman Emeritus position in F1, which he was given when Liberty Media bought the sport from CVC and Chase Carey took over Ecclestone's seat.

Meanwhile, recently retired F1 driver Felipe Massa was also confirmed for a FIA role, as the Brazilian was handed the President position in the CIK/International Karting Commission, replacing Abdulla bin Isa Al Khalifa.

The Bahrani had been in the role since 2010 - the longest reigning President, with Kees van de Grint continuing on, in his role as the Vice-President of the commission alongside Massa, who had recently announced his first racing programme for 2018.

[Image courtesy: Sky Sports F1] #Motorsport #F1 #FIA #GeneralAssembly #WMSC #Paris #Formula1

New Love food? Try foodtribe.

Join in

Comments (0)