- Anthoine Hubert [Copyright: FIA Formula 2 Championship]

F2 to not use #19 in Hubert's honour as race number list for 2020 is revealed

The fine gesture comes after it did not use it at the fag end of 2019 as well.

1y ago

The FIA Formula 2 (F2) Championship is not going to use #19 in the honour of Anthoine Hubert as it reveals the race numbers for 2020 season.

Following the tragic demise of Hubert at Spa-Francorchamps, F2 has decided to not use the #19 in his honour from 2020 onward. Even in 2019, Artem Markelov, who drove the BWT Arden car in place of the Frenchman, used #22 in the two rounds.

Ahead of the 2020 season, F2 revealed details of the race numbers of each team, which confirmed that the #19 has been retired as it extends to #23, with #13 and #18 also not in use. Having won the 2019 championship, DAMS drivers will have #1 and #2.

As a result, Sean Gelael will be running the #1 and Dan Ticktum will use #2. At the same time, UNI-Virtuosi Racing has #3 and #4, with the latter taken up by Callum Ilott, while ART Grand Prix has #5 and #6, where the former will be used by Marcus Armstrong.

In the same way, Carlin will use #7 and #8, followed by Campos Racing having #9 and #10, Charouz Racing System going with #11 and #12 - where experienced Louis Deletraz will run the former and F2 newcomer Pedro Piquet will use the latter.

With #13 not in use, MP Motorsport has #14 and #15 where the former is in use by another F2 debutant Felipe Drugovich. The #16 and #17 will be used by Arden's replacement, HWA Racelab, with Guiliano Alesi taking #16 and Markelov in #17.

Prema, meanwhile, will have Mick Schumacher in #20 and 2019 F3 champion Robert Shwartzman in #21, while Trident will use #22 and #23. This is the second honour for Hubert after naming the 'Rookie of the Year' award after the Frenchman.

[Image courtesy: FIA Formula 2 Championship] [Note: This story was also written by me on FormulaRapida.net]

Join In

Comments (1)