- FMSCI President Akbar Ebrahim & FIA President Jean Todt [Copyright: FMSCI]

    FMSCI reveals names of elected Indian members in FIA commissions

    A total of 18 members represent India in the governing body's commissions.

    The FIA General Assembly for the year 2017 took place between December 4-8 in Paris, where Jean Todt was re-elected as the FIA's president for his third and final term. Along with the presidential election, host of other members were also taken in.

    Among all the other countries, India's Gautam Singhania was elected into the World Motor Sport Council to represent the country, replacing Force India boss Vijay Mallya, who left the position earlier in the year.

    Together with Singhania, 17 other Indians were put into the various commissions run by the FIA for varieties of championships and other activities, which is run under the aegis of the governing body - the total of 18 is the highest representation in the FIA from India till now.

    The current Federation of Motor Sport Clubs of India president Akbar Ebrahim was put in the Electric and New Energy Championships Commission, while the former FMSCI boss Vicky Chandhok was elected in the Truck Racing Commission, with Zayn Khan put in the Volunteers & Officials Commission.

    Meanwhile, current Channel 4 Formula 1 pundit Karun Chandhok's name also featured in the 17 elected - even though the ex-F1 driver was already part of the Drivers Commission. The JA Motorsport boss Ananad Jayachandran, who prepares the cars for the MRF Challenge and the MRF F1600 championships was taken in the single-seater commission.

    A long-time FIA member Farhan Vohra was elected in the Circuits Commission, while the FIA APRC Coffee Day India Rally boss Farooq Ahmed fittingly got the Rally Commission membership, with Jayesh Desai from the Northern Motorsport getting a nod in the Cross-Country Rally Commission.

    Some other racing associations had N Leelakrishnan in the Touring Car Commission, Balakrishna Jayasimha in the Offroad Commission - Autocross & Rallycross, Manjeev Bhalla in the Hillclimb Commission, J Balamurgan in the Drag Racing Commission and Sajeev Matthew Rajan in the International Karting Commission.

    The much-talked upon Women in Motorsport Commission had Nawaz Sandhu, with G Sathish Kumar getting elected in the Homologation Regulations Commission. In the two road related groups, Autocar editor Hormazd Sorabjee was put in the Lands Speed Records Commission, with V Shyam Kumar in the Closed Road Commission.

    Post the annual FIA meet, the FMSCI also had its members gathered in its Chennai HQ on December 11 where all the sporting commissions under the FMSCI laid down their plans for the 2018 season, while reporting on how the year 2017 went by.

    Some new sporting commissions were also incorporated under the existing commissions. Under Racing, there will be a Drifting commission, while Auto Cross has Auto Gymkhana, with X Cross, Rally Cross and Super Moto falling under Rally.

    The FMSCI also noted that it will take part in the upcoming 2018 Auto Expo, which is scheduled to run between February 9-14 in the India Expo Mart in Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh.

    [Image courtesy: FMSCI] #FIA #FMSCI #2017 #2018 #Paris #Chennai #smalltribesrule #FIAGeneralAssembly #Election #Motorsport #India

    Join In

    Comments (2)

    • I also want to join fmsci,I am participating in various car rally and also have fmsci issue license

        2 years ago


    Post sponsored by

    What car should you buy if you won a million dollars?
    French GT4: Rabindra/Vannelet end 2020 season with double Top 10 in class
    NIO 333 takes Blomqvist as it reveals livery for 2020/21 Formula E season
    X30 Series: Summary from final round of 2020 season