- Photos by Formula Drift

Formula Drift Round 7 & 8 Recap

Fredric Aasbo takes Round 7, Odi Bakchis takes Round 8. Vaughn Gittin Jr. wins the 2020 Championship.

7w ago

This past weekend, Round 7 & 8 of the 2020 Formula Drift Championship had the competitors visit the "House of Drift" Irwindale Speedway.

It sure was an eventful weekend that no one could plan for. Going into Round 7, Vaughn Gittin Jr was in first place in the championship points followed closely behind by Ryan Tuerck. Tuerck was fighting bad luck over the weekend. He had to have his engine replaced after Top 32, then in Top 16 he crashed out. Gittin Jr continued pretty far in the round until he spun out against Tuerck's Papadakis Racing teammate Fredric Aasbo in Top 4.

Aasbo went on to win Round 7 with Michael Essa grabbing second place and Chelsea DeNofa nabbing the last podium spot.

Chris Forsberg had his own bad luck through the weekend. He flew a motor before Round 7 and brought his demo car up to the big leagues. His first battle was a bye run which he ran, but ended up bowing out of competition to be a good sportsman and not put anyone in danger since his demo car has half the power that is averaged among the competitors. For Round 8, he borrowed Matt Field's old competition car.

The top spot in Round 8 was taken by Aurimas "Odi" Bakchis. DeNofa once again grabbed a carbon fiber trophy and this time took second while Justin Pawlak took third.

In terms of the championship, Tuerck was eliminated in Top 16 after he collided with Jonathan Nerren which handed the 2020 Formula Drift Championship to Gittin Jr.

The weekend seemed to be heading to toward Gittin Jr, even 3-time reigning champion James Deane, who was absent from this years competition, did a live chat before competition started and gave Gittin Jr his vote.

All of DeNofa's podiums this year helped him grab second place in the championship, while third place went to Tuerck. YouTube star-turned Pro driver Adam LZ took the Rookie of the Year. Ford took the Auto Cup and Nitto Tire won the Tire Cup.

Join In

Comments (0)