- Photo Credit - WSC / TCR Europe

Lloyd starts 2020 TCR Europe campaign in style

Daniel Lloyd took victory in the opening round of the 2020 TCR Europe Touring Car Series after capitalising on a great start to the race

3w ago


The Brutal Fish Racing driver leapt from third place on the grid, behind front row starters John Filippi and Mehdi Bennani fight for the lead through the first two corners before establishing himself at the head of the field by the time they made it onto the Mistral Straight.

Bennani passed the Target Competition Hyundai as Filippi went wide at turn one and committed to piling on the pressure to Lloyd in what was a race-long duel at the front of the pack.

Further back, Julien Briché was forced wide by the Target Competition duo of Andreas and Jessica Bäckman.

As the field completed the first lap, Lloyd led from Bennani, Filippi, Teddy Clairet who passed Nestor Girolami for fourth into the chicane and Jimmy Clairet for the top six places. Mike Halder was involved early on in the action as he lost seventh place to both Pepe Oriola and Jessica Bäckman.

Both Oriola and Jessica Bäckman would be destined not to finish after several laps of action would result in contact and ultimately retirement for both drivers on lap seven.

Photo Credit - WSC / TCR Europe

Photo Credit - WSC / TCR Europe

Mike Halder suffered a big moment going out of Signes on lap four and was sideways, losing places to the BRC Racing Hyundais of Dániel Nagy and Mat’o Homola and Nicolas Baert in his Comtoyou Audi, all who were both making their way forward after poor qualifying efforts.

The field began to spread out halfway through the race as Lloyd soaked up the pressure from both Bennani and Filippi, who were rarely less than a second behind the Honda Civic Type R.

After completing ten laps without a Safety Car intervention, Daniel Lloyd crossed the line to win the first race of the year ahead of Mehdi Bennani and John Filippi, with Teddy Clairet and Nestor Girolami completing the top five positions.

Jimmy Clairet took sixth at the flag ahead of Andreas Backman with Sami Taoufik in eight place taking points on his full-season debut ahead of Mat’o Homola in ninth and the recovering Mike Halder in tenth.

Dániel Nagy took eleventh place with Michelle Halder in twelfth ahead of Florian Briché and Julien Briché whilst Evgenii Leonov took the last points-paying place in fifteenth.

Join In

Comments (0)