Mercedes, Dragon, Nissan & DS Techeetah confirm Driver Line-up

Team switches, new faces and more!


It’s a completely new driver line-up at Dragon!

Brendon Hartley [New Zealand] arrives to the Formula E paddock for his maiden season. He raced for Scuderia Toro Rosso in the 2018 Season of Formula 1. Alongside his Formula E seat, Hartley is one of the three drivers behind the wheel of the LMP 1 challenger of Toyota Gazoo Racing in WEC this season. He also holds a development driver role at Scuderia Ferrari F1 team.

Nico Mueller [Switzerland] has been the test and reserve driver for the audi team for the past two seasons. Now he gets a spot on the grid. Mueller also competes in both DTM as well as the Blancpain GT Series. In the current DTM season, Mueller is in 2nd position with the Audi Sport team.


The team retains both it’s drivers from the previous season after placing fourth in the team standings, with a difference of a single point between Envision Virgin Racing and them for third.

Sebastian Buemi (LEFT) — Oliver Rowland (RIGHT)

Sebastian Buemi (LEFT) — Oliver Rowland (RIGHT)

Sebastian Buemi [Switzerland] finished 2nd in the Championship standings in the 2018/2019 Season and has also won the 2018/19 World Endurance Championship with Toyota Gazoo Racing LMP1. Adding to it, Buemi was the 2015/2016 Season Formula E World Champion with Renault e.dams. Alongside all of this, he is also currently the reserve driver for RedBull Racing in Formula 1.

Oliver Rowland [United Kingdom] has competed in several disciplines of motorsport : Blancpain GT Series, Formula 2 and also driven at the legendary 24 Hours of Lemans. Rowland finished 10th in the championship standings last season in Formula E.


Defending World Champions lose out on Andre Lotterer as he heads to the Porsche Formula E team.

Antonio Felix da Costa [Portugal](RIGHT) fills in the vacant seat. Switching from BMW i Andretti, he is one of the drivers on the Formula E grid who has been in the sport since it’s inception in 2014.

Jean Eric Vergne [France](LEFT) stays at the team where he has successfully won both his World Championship Titles. In the past, Vergne has competed in Formula 1 for Scuderia Toro Rosso from 2012 to the end of the 2014 season.


New Team. One old driver. One new driver. Perhaps the perfect balance.

Stoffel Vandoorne [Belgium] retains his seat in Formula E. He raced for Mclaren in Formula 1 for three seasons (2016-2018). Mercedes will be taking over HWA Race Labs which was the team Vandoorne raced for last season in Formula E. Additionally he is also Mercedes’ test driver in Formula 1 for 2019.

Nyck De Vries [Netherlands], F2 World Champion 2019, will be driving alongside Vandoorne. Outside of Formula E, De Vries competes in WEC for Racing Team Nederland. At the age of 24, De Vries sets a precedent of becoming the first driver to move from Formula 2 to Formula E directly.

Nyck de Vries (LEFT) — Stoffel Vandoorne (RIGHT)

Nyck de Vries (LEFT) — Stoffel Vandoorne (RIGHT)


Join In

Comments (2)

  • JEV and Da Costa at Techeetah will be amazing.

      1 year ago