- US Racing CHRS driver Mick Wishofer wins race 3 in Hockenheim ©Gruppe C / Hoch Zwei/ ADAC Motorsport

Mick Wishofer secures first victory

1y ago


Following 11 class wins, along with securing the Rookie title in 2017, Austrian racer Mick Wishofer built on his success, securing his first victory after race 3 in Hockenheim.

"I haven't really realised it yet. That's what I wanted and what you work hard for all the time. When it finally happens, it's great, of course!", the 18-year-old rejoiced.

Wishofer began the race in second behind pole man Niklas Krütten (ADAC Berlin Brandenburg e.V., BWT Mücke Motorsport) and managed to stay on the rear of the pink panther. With not even five minutes into the race, Wishofer managed to get passed Krütten – away from the cameras!

The replay then delivered the decisive overtaking move, with the drivers entering the Mercedes arena. Once the US Racing CHRS driver got passed, he started to build a gap to the chasing gap behind and successfully stayed in front until the checkered flag.

Mick Wishofer climbs onto top step of the podium after 27 F4 races ©Gruppe C / Hoch Zwei/ ADAC Motorsport

The points were much needed from his point of view. "I was already lacking points in the championship standings, which I partly blame myself for. But for our team, it was a great race weekend", explained Wishofer who now finds himself 6th in the standings.

And it indeed was a great weekend, with Wishofer securing the third victory for the team from Kerpen during the second race weekend of the season. Leaving his US Racing CHRS crew as the team leader with 178 points in total.

Behind the top 3, Charles Weerts (Van Amersfoort Racing), Jack Doohan (Prema Theodore Racing), Liam Lawson (Van Amersfoort Racing), Enzo Fittipaldi (Prema Theodore Racing), Frederik Vesti (Van Amersfoort Racing), Gianluca Petecof (Prema Theodore Racing) and Oliver Caldwell (Prema Theodore Racing) completed the top 10.

The ADAC F4 field will return to action in less than two weeks. The youngsters will again support the DTM at the Lausitzring from 18th to 20th May 2018.


You can rewatch the race here: facebook.com/ADACformel4/videos

ADAC F4 Tribe: Mick Wishofer becomes 2017 ADAC Formula 4 Rookie Champion

New Love food? Try foodtribe.