- Presley Martono [Copyright: MRF Racing]

MRF Challenge: Martono overtakes van Kalmthout to win Race 4 at Dubai Autodrome

The Indonesian ended Round 2 on a positive note.

For the final race of the Dubai MRF Challenge weekend, Rinus van Kalmthout started on pole along side Presley Martono, while championship leader Felipe Drugovich and Alex Karkosik started from row two.

It was an average start for van Kalmthout as the Dutchman was overtaken by Martono in the opening lap, with the Indonesian taking over the race lead. Behind, Danial Frost and Manual Maldonado came together, bringing out the safety car with Frost retiring immediately.

Once the race was green in the couple of laps, Martono held on to his lead from van Kalmthout, who in turn was under pressure from Drugovich. The Brazilian bid his time and eventually made the move stick on Lap 6 to take second place from the Dutchman.

Drugovich then had Martono in his sights for the rest of the four laps, but the Indonesian just had enough to take his maiden win of the season by a mere 0.701s, while van Kalmthout completed the rostrum.

Even though Karkosik finished fourth, but the Polish driver was handed a drive-through penalty in the race along with Pavan Ravishankar, who finished 12th - both of whom didn't serve the penalty, which resulted in the marshal waving Black Flag at them.

It is unclear whether they will be disqualified from the race or if they will be handed with a time penalty, since the provisional results had both their names in fourth and 12th respectively. In addition, the incident between Maldonado and Frost will be investigated after the race.

After getting a penalty in Race 3, Harri Jones recovered well to finish fifth in the final race, holding off Julien Falchero and Michelangelo Amendola - the latter himself clearing Robert Megennis for seventh on Lap 8.

The Top 10 was rounded off by Louis Gachot and Henning Enqvist, while the rest of the field saw Maldonado in 11th followed by Ravishankar, Dylan Young, Perdana Putra Minang, Kurt Hill and Richard Wagner.

Joining Frost in the retirement list was Nazim Azman, who pitted at the end of Lap 5 with a suspected mechanical issue.

UPDATE: Both Karkosik and Ravishankar were disqualified from the race after failing to execute the drive-through penalty in the race. As a result, Jones finished fourth followed by Falchero, Amendola, Megennis, Gachot, Enqvist and Maldonado.

The positions outside the Top 10 ran as Young in 11th, Minang 12th, Hull 13th and Wagner 14th.

[Image courtesy: MRF Racing] #MRFChallenge #MRFRacing #DubaiAutodrome #Motorsport #smalltribesrule #MRF #JAMotorsport #Dubai

Join In

Comments (0)