- Nayan Chatterjee [Copyright: JK Tyre Motorsport]

Nayan Chatterjee to race in F4 SEA's season-opener at Sepang

The Indian is among the 13 drivers confirmed for the first race of the 2017/18 season.

The FIA Formula 4 South East Asia championship organisers has released the names of the 13 drivers taking part in the 2017/18 season-opener at the Sepang International Circuit.

Among the drivers confirmed for the Malaysian round, is India's Nayan Chatterjee, who is currently racing in the Euro JK championship in India.

The Mumbaikar was set to make his F4 SEA debut in one of the rounds last season. However, the young driver then decided to concentrate on the National Championships instead, along with karting.

Chatterjee will be joined by returning drivers from Season 1, which includes Malaysia's Isyraf Danish, Singapore's Daniel Frost and Oman's Khalid Al Wahaibi.

Among the new drivers, it will feature Malaysia's Nazim Azman, Sri Lanka's Eshan Pieris, Indonesia's Perdana Minang, Ireland's Luke Thompson, Thailand's Shivin Sirinarinthon & Kane Sheperd, Philippines' Tyson Sy, China's Daniel Cao and Britain's Harrison.

Peter Thompson, Chairman, Asian Autosport Action Group said: “Being a F1 support race will enhance youth brand enthusiasm for formula car racing in the region.

"This also fits perfectly with our ethos of ‘Is F1 your dream?’ by providing the opportunity for our heroes to live their dream and promote their talent through the F4 SEA platform.”

The 2017/18 season will feature six rounds of six races each. Post the first round, the championship will move to Philippines (October 20-22), followed by Indonesia (November 24-26), Thailand (January 12-14) and culminate in Malaysia (February 9-11).

Last year, the series featured two Indians, with Akash Gowda finishing third in the drivers' standings, while Mohammed Nalwalla only entered in the first four rounds.

[Image courtesy: JK Tyre Motorsport] #F4SEA #Formula4 #F4 #Formula4SEA #Motorsport #Malaysia #Sepang #smalltribesrule

Join In

Comments (0)