- Photos by Formula Drift | Larry Chen

Odi Bakchis wins Formula Drift Round 7 in Long Beach

Bakchis, Aasbo, and Gittin Jr. take the podium spots at FD Round 6

4w ago

Usually, Formula Drift Long Beach is the first event of the season. Most of the drivers have just finished their cars, brand new liveries, undamaged and untested vehicles. With the current times we are in, the Long Beach round was moved to nearly the end of the season and it completely shook up the championship standings.

33 drivers showed up for only 32 available spots at the event, so during qualifying sadly someone had to go and that some was Josh Reynolds in his BMW F22 Eurofighter build. Justin Pawlak qualified at the top while narrowly staying ahead of Papadakis Racing driver Fredric Aasbo who had an identical 97 score in qualifying. Pawlak happened to showcase more angle to break the tie.

The more important win goes to Aasbo though as he won the event besting Aurimas "Odi" Bakchis in the final. Aasbo had to go through 2020 Formula Drift Champion Vaughn Gittin Jr. took third place.

Bakchis might have grabbed the top spot, but Aasbo taking second place did wonders for his championship contention. He jumps all the way to the top. Aasbo currently leads the 2021 FD Championship standings with 557 points.

19 points behind Aasbo is Chelsea DeNofa with 538 points and Matt Field is a mere 1 point behind DeNofa in third with 537 points. This rounds winner Bakchis is currently holding down 4th place with 514 points. Long Beach's 3rd place winner Gittin Jr is behind Bakchis with 474 points and Aasbo's Papadakis Racing teammate Ryan Turek is only 4 points behind Gittin Jr with 470.

Formula Drift will return Oct 22-23 at the "House of Drift" for FD Irwinadle at Irwindale Speedway.

Join In

Comments (0)