- Winners in the Annual Prize Gala [Copyright: FIA]

Verstappen wins FIA Personality award again, Monger given special memento

1y ago


The FIA held its Annual Prize Giving Gala for the 2017 season at Chateau de Versailles in France on Friday evening - ending the year celebrating the champions from various championships and honoring the best racers and moments, which took place during the year.

Aside the usual awards, among the other winners was Red Bull Racing's Max Verstappen, who took the honours of being the Personality of the Year - the Dutchman winning it for the third time in succession.

The Rookie of the Year award went to Alfa Romeo Sauber's new recruit Charles Leclerc, as the Ferrari junior went on to claim the the FIA F2 championship in his first attempt racing for Prema Powerteam.

The prize gala also saw the re-elected FIA President Jean Todt handing out a special memento to young racer Billy Monger, who lost both his feet in an accident earlier this year during a British F4 race. The Mexican GP won the Best Promoters Trophy, once again.

Billy Monger receiving the Presidents Award from Jead Todt [Copyright: FIA]

The Action of the Year went to World Rally Championship's driver Esapekka Lappi, who defeated racers from the Karting Championship, the World Endurance Championship, the World Touring Car Championship, the Formula E Series and the European Rally Championship.

In the more traditional awards, Mercedes took its constructors' trophy while Lewis Hamilton had his drivers' championship trophy in his hands, with Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel and Hamilton's teammate Valtteri Bottas taking the second and third place trophies respectively.

Also, Porsche and its drivers Brendon Hartley, Timo Bernhard and Earl Bamber took their respective trophies for winning in the WEC, with M-Sport and Sebastien Ogier (with co-driver Julien Ingrassia) taking their WRC awards respectively.

In the 'firsts' list, World Rallycross champion Johan Kristoffersson took his drivers' title, with Team PSWX - Volkswagen Sweden taking the teams' trophy. The World Touring Car Championship winner Thed Bjork took his drivers' trophy, as well.

In the junior single-seater category, Leclerc was awarded with his F2 trophy, while Lando Norris took the European F3 title - their respective teams Prema and Carlin were given the teams' trophies. Dan Ticktum took the F3 World cup Trophy for his Macau GP victory.

The regional champions were also awarded as India's Gaurav Gill (with co-driver Stephane Prevot) took his third FIA crown for winning the 2017 Asia-Pacific Rally Championship. Full list of awardees: fiaagapg.fiaevents.com/ehome/200174320/prize/

[Image courtesy: FIA] #FIAPrizeGiving #Motorsport #F1 #WRC #WEC #WTCC #FIAF3 #F2 #FIA #Formula1 #Rally #Touring #Endurance #France #2017 #FormulaE #Award #F4

New Love food? Try foodtribe.

Join in

Comments (2)


    Vini the V8 Mini: Ready For Refit
    Once Upon A Time in Kagoshima | Tomica '02 Honda NSX-R | Diecast Diaries
    Mid-week long read: youth movement
    Can You Tow A Tesla Back To Life?